ADVANCE CRT

SFI Centre for Research Training in Advanced Networks for Sustainable Societies

We are training 120 PhD students in four annual cohorts of 30 students across the five partner universities

Applications for the academic year 2020/2021 are now open - extended deadline is Friday 6th March 2020.
Application Procedure
More information

The ADVANCE CRT - What is it?

The ADVANCE CRT is a Science Foundation Ireland Centre for Research Training focused on Future Networks and the Internet of Things with applications in sustainable and independent living. ADVANCE will train 120 PhD students, recruited in four annual cohorts of 30 students across the five partner universities, beginning with the academic year 2019/20

ADVANCE Vision

We live in a society where ubiquitous, high-speed communication networks enable, and increasingly dominate, our family, social and working lives. These networks enable an ever-increasing range of human-to-machine and machine-to-machine (M2M) communication applications in the Internet of Things. This expanding hyper-connectivity will create new communication, sensing and control services, and forms of interconnectivity and services between people and Things in ways we cannot yet even fully envisage. Two societal pressures drive the need for hyper-connectivity - Urbanisation and Rural Depopulation.

Meeting both the technical and societal challenges of global hyper-connectivity requires multi- and inter-disciplinary approaches. Our vision is to train the next generation of researchers who will seek solutions to the technical and societal challenges of global hyper-connectivity between large numbers of People and Things. We will explore opportunities for a range of novel applications in sustainable and independent living enabled by such networks that will become critically important to sustain large dense cities and alleviate problems of rural depopulation. Given the far-reaching technological, economic, social and personal impacts of hyper-connectivity, our researchers will, in addition to deep competence in their individual disciplines, need understanding of these wider ethical, social and economic aspects. They will need the ability to collaborate with, learn from, and communicate their discipline-specific knowledge with other disciplines and the public who will be the beneficiaries of their collective expertise.

ADVANCE PhD Programme

The 4-year PhD Programme features:

  • Intensive Summer, Autumn and Winter School events throughout the Programme
  • Opportunities for multidisciplinary research
  • Supervision by internationally renowned Principal Investigators
In addition, scholars benefit from:
  • Access to a network of research groups from Universities and Research Institutes from around the world that will offer our students placement opportunities
  • Professional skills training allowance
  • Travel funds to national training days and international conferences
  • Equipment (including a laptop or PC)
  • Generous tax-free annual stipend of €18,500
  • Fee contribution of €5500 towards University fees (fee rate for EU nationals)

Partnership

The ADVANCE CRT brings together over 50 research supervisors from computer science, electrical and computer engineering, social science, psychology and health science, to stimulate socially-responsible and inclusive creativity and innovation in the field of future networks and the Internet of Things. ADVANCE is a close partnership between five Irish Higher Education Institutions and Irish-based industry. ADVANCE is a rich ecosystem of partner universities involving University College Cork, Cork Institute of Technology, Maynooth University, Trinity College Dublin, and TU Dublin and large companies such as Nokia, Intel, DellEMC, u-blox, Vodafone, UTRC, Johnson Controls, JaguarLandRover and indigenous SMEs such as Taoglas, Decawave, Shimmer, Independet Living Ireland and local authorities and NGOs such as Dublin and Cork City Councils, RehabGroup and Enable Ireland.

We welcome contact from organisations in the industry and the voluntary sectors who wish to partner with us in training the next generation of highly skilled scientists and engineers through supporting work placements, research project definition, and training courses. If you are interested, please contact as at advance-crt@cs.ucc.ie

ADVANCE leverages complimentary research initiatives, particularly the SFI-funded CONNECT Centre for Future Networks. Internationally, we are engaged with a network of research groups from Universities and Research Institutes from around the world that will offer our students placement opportunities, such as Imperial College, TU Eindhoven, RWTH Aachen, University of Toronto, University of Auckland, IMDEA, and CEA.

ADVANCE Training & Research

Research Programme


The ADVANCE vision of a hyper-connected world requires a research programme that addresses key challenges in advanced communications and networking, data driven network management, and ICT applications for sustainable communities. These future networks will enable customisation, where capabilities adapt to their users needs and locations, be it people, Things, or autonomous systems and services. Their design will need to consider the complex mega-urban environments that place pressure on the social well-being and health of residents and of rural environments that need to support dispersed communities. This raises major challenges and requires new approaches to communication system design. ADVANCE's research programme is focused on:

  • Enabling technologies for future wireless/mobile networks and the Internet of Things,
  • Intelligent and data driven network management and optimisation,
  • Internet of Things applications for sustainable communities and independent living and associated social, privacy and security issues.

Training Programme


The ADVANCE Training Programme aims at developing a broad set of skills in students:

  • Excellent Research Skills
  • Transversal and Cross-Sectoral Skills
  • Societal Skills
  • Discipline-Specific Skills

At the core of the training programme is the student cohort approach. Within each year's cohort and across annual cohorts, students have the opportunity to learn and work together, network, learn from each other, support each other and develop friendships. The training porgramme will be delivered in block delivery through summer and winter schools bringing all student cohorts together, and through distance learning and self-directed learning. ADVANCE creates a Personal Training Plan for each student that includes Student and Supervisor Responsibilities and Expectations, Support Resources, Principles of Research Integrity, and Career Planning.

In addition to the development of skills, students will also take part in industry or partner university placements of between 3 and 6 months. These are an integral, credited part of the training programme as not only are they an important form of experiential learning but also allow students to apply formal learning in the workplace and to interact with both technology-professionals and technology users. Placements also allow students to develop their professional identity, to shape their career plans and to understand why life-long learning is important.

The ADVANCE Team

The Centre for Research Training brings together a supervisory team of over 50 very experienced research supervisors from across the five universities involved in the Centre. The team comprises of computer scienties and engineers, electrical and electronic engineers, applied psychologists, social and health scientists, and business innovation experts.

Management Team

The Centre is led by senior academics from the five partner universities:

Prof. Dirk Pesch

Centre Director
University College Cork
details

Prof. John Barrett

Deputy Director
Cork Institute of Technology
details

Prof. Siobhan Clarke

Co-Lead
Trinity College Dublin
details

Prof. Cormac Sreenan

Co-Lead
University College Cork
details

Dr. Deirdre Desmond

Co-Lead
Maynooth University
details

Prof. Max Ammann

Co-Lead, Technological University Dublin
details

Dr. Stephen Hammel

CRT Programme Manager
University College Cork
details

Ms. Claire Collins

CRT Programme Administration
University College Cork
details

Supervisors

The ADVANCE CRT supervisors, including the management team, represent the research themes in the ADVANCE research programme. Below is the list of supervisors currently seeking students. The list includes their institution, areas of research focus and links to their CVs and personal profiles. Supervisers are happy to discuss projects will prospective appliciants and can be contacted by email.

<
Dr. Laura Maye l.maye@cs.ucc.ie Interactive media; HCI; Human-centred computing
Dr. Maurizio Mancini m.mancini@cs.ucc.ie Multimodal Interfaces; embodied agents; movement analysis/synthesis
Dr. Rosane Minghim r.minghim@cs.ucc.ie Artificial Intelligence; Data Analytics; Algorithmics; Interactive Media; HCIM
Dr. Aisling O'Driscoll a.odriscoll@cs.ucc.ie Wireless and Mobile Networks; cooperative communication protocols; vehicular & sensor networks
Dr. Paolo Palmieri p.palmieri@cs.ucc.ie Privacy; Security; Cryptography
Dr. Nadia Pantidi nadia.pantidi@ucc.ie Smart City and e-democracy; vulnerable populations; digital placemaking
Prof. Dirk Pesch d.pesch@cs.ucc.ie IoT; Wireless & Vehicular Networks; Smart Cities
Dr. Ian Pitt i.pitt@cs.ucc.ie HCI; auditory & speech-based interfaces, interfaces for blind computer-users, eLearning
Prof. Utz Roedig u.roedig@cs.ucc.ie IoT; Security, Wireless Networks
Prof. Cormac Sreenan cjs@cs.ucc.ie Wireless Networks; UAVs; Video Streaming
Dr. Sabin Tabirca s.tabirca@cs.ucc.ie Parallel and Mobile Computation for Scientific Problems
Dr. Ahmed H. Zahran a.zahran@cs.ucc.ie Mobile networking; Multimedia streaming; Intelligent transportation systems
Dr. Haithem Afli haithem.afli@cit.ie Natural Language Processing; Deep Learning & Machine Translation
Prof. John Barrett john.barrett@cit.ie
Dr. Andrea Bickerdike andrea.bickerdike@cit.ie Smart technology for physical activity and healthy living
Dr. Olivia Brickley olivia.brickley@cit.ie Network management; SDN; Intelligent Transportation Systems
Dr. Con Burns con.burns@cit.ie Smart technology for physical activity and healthy living
Dr. Ignacio Castineiras Ignacio.Castineiras@cit.ie Big Data Analytics; Machine Learning; Combinatorial Optimisation
Dr. Victor Cionca victor.cionca@cit.ie Wireless; Mesh; Networking
Dr. Tara Coppinger tara.coppinger@cit.ie Smart technology for physical activity and healthy living
Dr. Pio Fenton pio.fenton@cit.ie AI; Future wireless networks; hypeconnectivity
Dr. Mohammed Hasanuzzaman Mohammed.Hasanuzzaman@cit.ie Natural Language Processing; Machine Learning (Deep Learning); Social Media Analytics; Multi-modal (vision+text) learning
Dr. Breda Kenny breda.kenny@cit.ie Entrepreneurship; Collaborative Innovation; Internationalisation
Dr. Martin Klepal martin.klepal@cit.ie People Behaviour; AI; Human-in-the-Loop
Dr. Conor Lynch conor.lynch@cit.ie Renewable energy; machine learning; system modelling
Dr. Alan McGibney alan.mcgibney@cit.ie IoT Ecosystems; Trusted Networks; Blockchain
Dr. Sean McSweeney sean.mcsweeney@cit.ie Pentesting; Ultrasonics; Acoustics
Dr. Cian O'Neill cian.oneill@cit.ie Smart technology for physical activity and healthy living
Dr. Ruairi O'Reilly ruairi.oreilly@cit.ie Real-time monitoring; predictive analytics; patient dataSmart technology
Dr. Donna O'Shea donna.oshea@cit.ie Cybersecurity; AI; SDN
Dr. Susan Rea susan.rea@cit.ie Digital Value Chains (Blockchain); Trusted & Secure Interactions for IoT; Energy Communities
Dr. Mubashir Rehmani mubashir.rehmani@cit.ie Wireless Networks; Wireless Sensor Networks; Cognitive Radio Networks; Smart Grid
Prof. Irene Sheridan irene.sheridan@cit.ie Experiential Learning; Engagement
Dr. Bernd-Ludwig Wenning berndludwig.wenning@cit.ie Wireless networks; vehicular networks; Quality of Service
Dr. Kritchai Witheephanich kritchai.witheephanich@cit.ie Predictive control for systems operating under uncertainty
Dr. Alex Vakaloudis alex.vakaloudis@cit.ie Software and enterprise solutions; cloud computing; machine learning
Dr. Melanie Bouroche melanie.bouroche@scss.tcd.ie Connected Autonomous Vehicles
Prof. Vinny Cahill vinny.cahill@tcd.ie Distributed systems; programming models
Prof.Siobhan Clarke siobhan.clarke@scss.tcd.ie
Prof.Siobhan Corrigan siobhan.corrigan@tcd.ie Human factors
Dr. Federico Cugurullo cugurulf@tcd.ie AI; Sustainable Cities
Prof. Luiz A. DaSilva dasilval@tcd.ie Wireless Networks; Machine Learning; Radio Virtualisation
Prof. Gavin Doherty gavin.doherty@tcd.ie Healthcare; Smartphone applications; Mental health
Prof. Linda Doyle ledoyle@tcd.ie Creative Arts Practices; Wireless Networks; Economics & Telecoms
Dr. Ivana Dusparic Ivana.Dusparic@scss.tcd.ie Multi-agent Systems; Reinforcement Learning; Intelligent Transport Systems
Dr. Lucy Hederman hederman@tcd.ie Connected Health; Clinical Decision Support Systems; Data Integration
Dr. Georgios Iosifidis iosifidg@tcd.ie Smartphone applications
Prof. Nicola Marchetti nicola.marchetti@tcd.ie Complex network systems; wireless networks; wireless engineering
Dr. Marco Ruffini marco.ruffini@tcd.ie Virtualisation of optical access networks; Machine Learning; Convergence of optical, wireless and cloud networks
Dr. Laura Coffey laura.coffey@mu.ie Assistive Technology; Health and Wellbeing; Independent Living
Dr. Deirdre Desmond Deirdre.Desmond@mu.ie Psychology; Quality of Life; Participation; Enabling Technology; Person-Technology Interface
Dr. Katarina Domijan katarina.domijan@mu.ie Machine Learning; Data/Model Visualization; Survey Research
Dr. John Dooley john.dooley@mu.ie Electronic engineering; radiospace
Dr. Catherine Hurley Catherine.hurley@mu.ie Data Visualisation; Machine Learning; Network/Graph Visualisation
Dr. Aphra Kerr Aphra.Kerr@mu.ie Internet of Things; Data Justice; Social Inclusion
Dr. Rebecca Maguire Rebecca.maguire@mu.ie Quality of Life in Chronic Illness; Wellbeing;Decision Making
Prof. Malcolm MacLachlan Mac.MacLachlan@mu.ie Assistive Technology; Policy; Systems Thinking
Dr. David Malone david.malone@mu.ie Computer Networking; Measurement and Analysis; Security
Dr. Maria Helen Murphy maria.murphy@mu.ie Data Protection; Law and Technology; Ethics
Dr. Rudi Villing rudi.villing@mu.ie autonomous mobile robotics; Communications and Sensing; Health and Wellbeing
Prof. Max Ammann max.ammann@TUDublin.ie Antennas; Propagation; Electromagnetics
Dr. Damon Berry damon.berry@TUDublin.ie Internet of Things; Smart Spaces; Localisation
Dr. Jane Courtney jane.courtney@TUDublin.ie Computer vision; Image processing; Deep learning
Dr. Ruairi de Frein ruairi.defrein@TUDublin.ie Decentralized Learning; Network Monitoring; Machine Learning for Sensor Networks
Prof. Mark Davis mark.davis@TUDublin.ie Wireless Networks; Performance Management; Machine Learning.
Dr. Patrick McEvoy patrick.mcevoy@TUDublin.ie Antennas; Ultra Wideband Systems; Radar
Dr. Susan McKeever susan.mckeever@TUDublin.ie Sensor Systems; Environment Monitoring; Machine Learning
Prof. Yuliya Semenova yuliya.semenova@TUDublin.ie Photonics, Optical Fiber Networks,Fiber Sensors

Applications for the academic year 2020/2021 are now open.

The call deadline is Friday, 21st February.

Due to demand, we have extended the deadline until Friday, 6th March.

Click here for the Information Booklet and Project Outlines

Basic Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must hold at least a 2.1 honours undergraduate degree in either Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Psychology, Social Science. Other qualifications in disciplines related to listed research areas will also be considered.

Non-native English speakers are required to hold a valid IELTS (or equivalent) certificate demonstrating at least a score of 6.5 overall with a score of not less than 6 in all parts. See here for further details on the English language proficiency. Please note that in relevant cases an offer will not be made until proof of an applicant's English proficiency has been provided. If applicants have a degree from a university in an English speaking country, they will be exempt from the English language requirement.

Documents Required

Applicants will be asked to upload the following documentation in PDF format:
  1. Statement of Motivation (max. 2 pages) addressing the following: why you wish to undertake a PhD with the Advance CRT (with reference to your future career plans,the proposed research topic, and the reasons for selecting the nominated supervisors
  2. Your CV (max. 3 pages) including contact details of 3 referees
  3. Transcripts of all your degrees and proof of English language ability (where required)
  4. Any supporting documentation for your application (optional)

You are STRONGLY encouraged to contact your preferred supervisors to discuss research project topics before submitting your application.

To help address gender under-representation in science, applications from female applicants are strongly encouraged, as are those from international students and other under-represented groups. This reflects each of the supervisory institutions commitment to providing a diverse and open environment for students and faculty.

Please visit our website regularly to check for updates. Any questions can be directed to advance-crt@cs.ucc.ie

Click on the apply button below to fill out the application form.

Apply Now